Old Boy (2003)

Technical Aspects:

Directed by: Park Chan-wook

Written by: Hwang Jo-yun
Park Chan-wook
Lim Chun-hyeong
Lim Joon-hyung
Garon Tsuchiya

Starring: Choi Min-sik
Yu Ji-tae
Kang Hye-jeong

Music: Jo Yeong-wook

Distributed by: Show East

Release date: November 21, 2003

Running time: 120 minutes

Country: South Korea

Language: Korean

Plot:

I’m not planning to spoil the whole story here. The main story is about this man who is kidnapped for 15 years. In a very mysterious way, he is released. Then, in the next 5 days, he plans his revenge. He manages to move around and, investigates who is this person that kept him locked for so much time.

What I think: (Spoiler Alert!)

I have to say that this movie literally has blown my mind away. I love the kind of movies that  at the end, leave you with a great impression and make you analyze every second of film you just had seen. It seems to me that, most of asian movies (that I have seen) are located in a very different level from the american ones. Of course, I am not dissing american movies, but what I mean is that asian artists have this peculiar way to see the world and twist it any way they want to.

The first word that comes to my mind when I remember the movie is obsession. How an unexpected event can change anyone’s life in a second. How obsessed someone can be with a simple idea. How obsessed someone can be to plan every single detail of their life. This is when I realize the importance of letting go. When someone gets too obsessed gets passionate, and sometimes passion leads to irrationality…In that case, beware of your actions in that state.

Anyway, the movie has a lot of points to analyze,violence, crime and incest among others. When a movie has an open ending like this one, makes me think the director wants us to actually BE the character, he makes us want to analyze every step the main character made along the whole story and make our own ending version.

Leave a Reply

