I’ts all about the “likes”

I wanted to write something that’s been on my mind lately, something that’s been bothering me, and it’s something that I just realized: Everything nowadays revolves around the “likes”, and I mean EVERYTHING. Now people consider the “like” factor to be crucial to decide what to do, their meaning and their worth… I think that is just bullshit.

Maybe you’ll think it’s something obvious, or is not something new, but the truth is, now it seems that no one can do anything without reporting it, showing it on social media, like it is our duty. Then I realized: behind every single post is a desire, and that desire is to be seen, to be acknowledged… basically that is the cost of a “like”, and that is how we end up being addicted to this never ending cycle, where we keep posting so people will always know what we are doing and let them tell us that they “like” us. I think that the more people “like” us the more we want that recognition… that is when the subject of fame comes to my mind.

I think that now most people think that having an account on any social network it is with the solely purpose of getting some kind of fame or something in return, whatever it means to them. It could be comedy videos, podcasts, art or random videos of cats, the ultimate goal is to get viral, and that at the end of the day my friends, is just temporary.

It’s because of all this that I started analyzing what I do for myself, and most important, what I stopped doing. Then I came to the conclusion: I shouldn’t base what I do in what other people would like me to do or if they like ir or not. It is not an obligation to be good at everything and post it to be famous. As a matter of fact, there are a lot of people that are good at something and they don’t necessarily post it every single day on Facebook or Instagram. If you like to sing, then just sing, if you write short stories, then keep writing. If you found your purpose on doing such things that you love is not an obligation to make yourself a name and get payed for it. That is why I started to hate that quote that says something like:

“Find your passion and you’ll never have to work a single day of your life”

It is not necessarily true. And it’s OK.

We do what we like to do for a reason, a way to make catharsis, and that is enough to keep doing it. Forget what everybody thinks, if you have success sharing your work fine, if not, is fine too. Honestly, I stopped doing a lot of things because I thought I wasn’t at the same level as others, or I wasn’t good enough. Fuck that! I need this now, more than ever, so I’m recovering a lot of things to make myself busy, not just for the sake of it, but to wake up my creativity again. So stay tuned, I’ll be sharing some stuff from now on over here, spanish and english… maybe some pictures along the way…

If you don’t like it is fine, and if you do, is fine too. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

